Interview with our Sleeping Beauty Panto stars – this week it’s Sarah – Jane Buckley.

SARAH JANE BUCKLEY

 SJ Buckley Pic

Training: Guildford School of Acting

Theatre credits include: Mrs Lyons, BLOOD Brothers UK Tour (3 contracts),Eva Cassidy in SONGBIRD THE MUSIC OF EVA CASSIDY (DGM Entertainment), Liz in SEPTEMBER IN THE RAIN (Lichfield Garrick), SJ in HORMONAL HOUSEWIVES UK TOUR (Jamie Wilson Productions),  Eva Cassidy in OVER THE RAINBOW (Theatre Productions), Gina in POPSTAR THE MUSICAL (Theatre Productions), Lola in UNCLE ERICS ITALIAN JOB (DGM Productions), Pru in THE TART AND THE VICARS WIFE (Ian Dickens), Narrator in JOSEPH AND THE AMAZING TECHNICOLOR DREAMCOAT (Bill Kenwright Productions), Compere Chardonnay in MARDI GRAS (Openwide Productions), Astra in SEVENTH HEAVEN (Actual Events), Bridget/Penny Shirl in A SLICE OF SATURDAY NIGHT (English Speaking Theatre), Various Roles in ADVENTURES OF THE CHUCKLE BROTHERS (QDOS), Various Roles in ELVIS THE MUSICAL (E & B Productions), Judy in DANCING IN THE STREET (DGM Productions), Various Roles in LATE JOYS (Players Theatre), Various Roles in OLIVER! (Theatre Clywd), Cathy in TWIST AND SHOUT (DGM Productions), Glinda in WIZARD OF OZ (QDOS)

PANTOMIME: Sarah has performed Pantomime for many years for UK Productions at various venues around the UK. Roles include: Mrs Darling/Mermaid (PETER PAN), Fairy Snowflake (SLEEPING BEAUTY), Fairy Godmother (CINDERELLA), Aladdin (ALADDIN) & Good Fairy in JACK & the BEANSTALK.

Television credits include: Kathy Barnes – Series Regular in HOLLYOAKS (Mersey TV), Trudy in BERGERAC (BBC Television), Sian in DOCTORS (BBC Drama Production), Receptionist in EMMERDALE (ITV Studios)

Who will you be playing in the panto and can you tell us a bit about your character?

I play Fairy Snowlake, I am Carabosse’s oppposite.  She’s the bad fairy and I’m the good fairy.  Fairy Snowlake always wants to see the good in Carabosse, but she always lets her down.

What has been your favourite role you have played in your career so far?

Probably when I produced and played Eva Cassidy, Songbird.  I actually brought that show to the Pavilion.   That was my own show.  To play such an iconic role, to produce and direct it was possibly the highlight of my career. It was something I’ve always wanted to do.

Did you always want to work in entertainment?

Always.  I was born in Cheshire. My parents have the Plas Hafod Hotel in Mold, we’ve been there thirty years so I now consider myself a North Wales girl.  I spent all of my  youth in Chester going to drama clubs.  I always knew from the moment I could speak and sing that I wanted to perform. I went to drama school, then got into theatre and cabaret then did Hollyoaks.  I played Kathy Barnes in Hollyoaks for three years.

Who was your role model/idol when growing up?

I loved Judy Garland and Barbara Streisand.  I loved big performers.  I suppose they inspired me after watching all the big Hollywood movies.  I think it started for me on Christmas Day with ‘Somewhere over the rainbow’ from the Wizard Of Oz.  I  was hooked.

Who is your favourite singer or band?

I love so many singers!  I love people like Whitney Houston, Barbara Streisand. As a girl, it was the big singers like  Dusty Springfield and Doris Day.  Into the 1980’s it was bands like Duran Duran.  People like Madonna, although she wasn’t my favourite singer – the way she changed her look and kept current and still does now makes her such an inspiring character.

What song would you like to sing in this years pantomime?

I’ve no idea yet, but I sometimes get to sing ‘Pure Imagination’ from Charlie and The Chocolate Factory.  I love singing that song.

What is the most mischievious thing you have ever done?

Once I was in a panto in Sheffield and we played a trick on Jansen Spencer (from Neighbours).  Myself and the whole of the company rehearsed a song and didn’t tell him.  We rehearsed the song, dance routine and the band wrote the music and I sang the song and we performed it on the last matinee. It was a very professional performance and the audience didn’t know any different.  He was just stood there, his face was a picture!

Can you tell us a Christmas cracker joke?

No!! I’m the worst joke teller ever!

What is your favourite film or TV programme?

My favourite film would be the Wizard Of Oz and my favourite TV programme would be Coronation Street.

Why should people book to come and see Sleeping Beauty this Christmas?

It’s full of fun, laughter, sparkle, entertainment and it’s an escape from all the rest of reality.  It’s a time to enjoy yourself and let your hair down and get involved.

We would like to say a big thank you to Sarah – Jane for taking the time to talk to us.

You can book for Sleeping Beauty on 01745 33 00 00 or online at http://www.rhylpavilion.co.uk/sleeping-beauty/#more-7995

 

Sleeping-Beauty-550x370px

Leave a comment